Several governments in Latin America and the Caribbean are closing borders or restricting travel as the coronavirus continues to spread throughout the Americas.

On Saturday Reuters reported that Colombia deported four foreign nationals – two French and two Spanish – who did not comply with a two week self isolation. All Colombians returning from China, Italy, France, or Spain must quarantine themselves for two weeks. The government previously announced that foreign nationals from Europe and Asia were not allowed to enter the country.

The governments of Ecuador and Argentina announced travel bans over the weekend for all foreign citizens.

Meanwhile Mexico is considering closing its border with the United States and Haiti with the Dominican Republic.

The increased cautionary measures coincide with a rise in the number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the Americas. As of March 15, there are nearly 500 cases of the pandemic in Latin America and the Caribbean.